Meet the Members of the Parocial Church Council (2012-2013)

 

Vicar

  Revd Dr David Lamb
The Vicarage, 14 Dunns Lane, Ashton Hayes, Chester CH3 8BU
Tel: 01829 751440
thevicar@ashtonhayes.co.uk

Church Wardens

 

Diane Eldridge

diane@ashtonhayes.co.uk

Margaret Papworth

margaret@ashtonhayes.co.uk

Secretary

  Sharon Varey

secretary@ashtonhayes.co.uk

Treasurer

  Lesley Rickards

treasurer@ashtonhayes.co.uk

Choir

 
  Yvonne Dowen
Married to Alan with two grown-up daughters who are now married and both living in or around London. Yvonne is a retired teacher who studied both music and drama whilst at college. She is well known in the village having taught the recorder over a period of 25 years at the local school, run the village play group and taught for a while at Ashton House Nursery.

Yvonne now runs our church choir (NEW MEMBERS ALWAYS WELCOME - PARTICULARLY MEN!), organises the annual Summer Concert and other church related events. She is an avid reader and is currently knitting furiously for her three grandchildren.

choir@ashtonhayes.co.uk

Clerk of Works

John Eldridge

clerkofworks@ashtonhayes.co.uk

Deanery Synod Rep

  Alan Dowen
Alan, along with his family, has lived in Ashton Hayes since 1976 having been born and bred in the Black Country and has attended St John's church since his arrival. He served as church warden for 10 years finally relinquishing that roll in order to concentrate on his reader ministry. He has a deep concern for the future of our church and our parish and has made a number of presentations to its members in order to fascilitate and drive change for the benefit of all.

Now retired, Alan was a chemical engineer by profession with a PhD in Fermentation Technology: before retirement he worked for a local chemical company for almost 35 years. He is married to Yvonne and is a reader and member of the choir: he has also served as treasurer for the Chester Deanery Synod for over 10 years and is a member of the Diocesan Synod and Bishop's Council.

deaneryrep@ashtonhayes.co.uk

Electoral Roll Officer

  Avril Lewis

electoralroll@ashtonhayes.co.uk

Planned Giving Officer

  Philip Goodall

plannedgiving@ashtonhayes.co.uk

Members

  Margaret Buckingham

Barbara Craven
Barbara and her husband John, have lived at Spy Hill Farm,Woodside on the edge of the parish next to Delamere forest for the past 45 years. They recently moved next door into a barn conversion and their eldest son Peter and his family now live in the farmhouse. Barbara and John have 4 children and 11 grandchildren all of whom are growing up fast.

Barbara was born in New Zealand but qualified in Newcastle-upon-Tyne before becomeing a general practioner in Chester. Since her retirement she has worked as a locum medical officer at the Hospice of the Good Shepherd. She is very involved in various roles at Chester Golf Club but when she has time she also enjoys gardening,walking, travelling, reading, attending concerts and the theatre.


barbara@ashtonhayes.co.uk


Alan Goodall

alang@ashtonhayes.co.uk

Hilary Maitland

hilary@ashtonhayes.co.uk

Natalie Meara
Natalie moved to the village in 2006 and has been at active member at St John’s ever since. She is married with two small children and is a consultant pathologist at the Countess of Chester Hospital. She still finds time to sing in the choir and is currently on a steep learning curve with respects to taking care of her first family garden. Other interests include making chutney and going green! Natalie is keen to bring the church up to date and make it a welcoming and loving environment for families to grow in the knowledge of God’s love.

natalie@ashtonhayes.co.uk 

Barbara Russell-Moore

barbararm@ashtonhayes.co.uk

Liz Weston

liz@ashtonhayes.co.uk

Sally Whelan

sally@ashtonhayes.co.uk